Classic concert movie: Sunshine Daydream with Grateful Dead 1972


Classic concert movie: Sunshine Daydream with Grateful Dead 1972

Sunshine Daydream is A Music Documentary Film Starring The Rock Band The Grateful Dead. It Was Shot At Their, August 27 1972 Concert, At The Old Renaissance Faire Grounds, In Veneta, Oregon. Directed by John Norris.

Unreleased for many years, the movie was sometimes shown at small film festivals, and bootleg recordings of it circulated on VHS and DVD, and as digital downloads. A digitally remastered and reedited official version of the film was released on August 1, 2013, showing only one time in selected theaters. It was screened with Grateful Days, a new documentary short that includes interviews with some of the concert attendees. Sunshine Daydream was released on DVD and Blu-ray on September 17, 2013.

Sunshine Daydream is also a live album containing the complete August 27, 1972 Grateful Dead concert. Produced as a 3–disc CD and as a 4-disc LP, it was released by Rhino Records on September 17, 2013.

The name Sunshine Daydream is taken from the coda section of the Dead song “Sugar Magnolia”.

The film, Sunshine Daydream:

Songs in the film

  • “Promised Land”
  • “China Cat Sunflower”
  • “I Know You Rider”
  • “Jack Straw”
  • “Bird Song”
  • “Dark Star”
  • “El Paso”
  • “Sing Me Back Home”
  • “Greatest Story Ever Told”

The lineup of the Grateful Dead for this concert—and for all their concerts from July 1972 to October 1974—was Jerry Garcia on guitar and vocals, Bob Weir on guitar and vocals, Phil Lesh on bass and vocals, Keith Godchaux on keyboards, Donna Jean Godchaux on vocals, and Bill Kreutzmann on drums.

Sunshine Daydream (Extras from the DVD/Blu-Ray):

The whole concert from Spotify with 12 more songs:

– Hallgeir

2 thoughts on “Classic concert movie: Sunshine Daydream with Grateful Dead 1972”

  1. What a gem – especially the DVD extras. The version of I Know You Rider alone
    was worth the price of admission, which sounded more like $3-50 for a ticket I think.

Comments are closed.