October 26: Bob Dylan – Carnegie Hall NYC 1963

Bob Dylan Carnegie Hall 1963

All things considered, this set stands as one of the all time great musical releases. Yes, that includes legitimate Label releases as well. Dylan and CBS have truly missed the mark here by not giving a thumbs up to this shows full release.
bobsboots.com -> read more here

Bob Dylan played Carnegie Hall, NYC on October 26 in 1963.

The concert was professionally recorded & Columbia was planning a release in December 1963.. rather late 64 or early 65 (check out comment from Peter Stone Brown), but they did not put it out.

  • 6 songs were released in 2005 on the EP “Live at Carnegie Hall 1963”
  • “Talkin’ John Birch Paranoid Blues” and “Who Killed Davey Moore?” were originally released on The Bootleg Series Volumes 1-3 (Rare & Unreleased) 1961-1991
  • “A Hard Rain’s A-Gonna Fall” and “When the Ship Comes In” were released on The Bootleg Series Vol. 7: No Direction Home: The Soundtrack.

Carnegie Hall
New York City, New York
26 October 1963


      1. The Times They Are A-Changin’
      2. Ballad Of Hollis Brown
      3. Who Killed Davey Moore?
      4. Boots Of Spanish Leather
      5. Talking John Birch Paranoid Blues
      6. Lay Down Your Weary Tune
      7. Blowin’ In The Wind
      8. Percy’s Song
        Here’s a song I wrote its about a friend of mine an it’s called Percys Song. An I took the tune from a song that a folk singer by the name of Paul Clayton sings. Called the Wind And The Rain.
      9. Seven Curses
      10. Walls Of Red Wing
      11. North Country Blues
      12. A Hard Rain’s A-Gonna Fall
      13. Talking World War III Blues
      14. Don’t Think Twice, It’s All Right
      15. With God On Our Side
      16. Only A Pawn In Their Game
      17. Masters Of War
      18. The Lonesome Death Of Hattie Carroll
      19. When The Ship Comes In
        I wanna sing one song here recognising that there are Goliath’s nowadays. An err people don’t realise just who the Goliath’s are but in older days Goliath was slayed and everybody looks back nowadays and sees how Goliath was. Nowadays there are crueler Goliath’s who do crueler crueler things but one day they gonna be slain too, An people 2,000 years from now can look back an say remember when Goliath the second was slain. (before When The Ship Comes In).


CBS Records documented Bob Dylan’s October 26, 1963, performance at New York City’s venerable Carnegie Hall for a proposed live LP provisionally titled In Concert, pressing acetates and even printing cardboard sleeves before abruptly scuttling the project for good. The assassination of John F. Kennedy altered most everyone’s plans, of course, and legend also proclaims that execs were flummoxed by the six-minute spoken narrative “Last Thoughts on Woody Guthrie,” one of several cuts added to the album from an April 12 gig at New York’s Town Hall. Bootlegs circulated for years, and in 1991 Columbia officially issued two cuts — the ripped-from-the-headlines “Who Killed Davey Moore?” and the infamous “Talkin’ John Birch Society Blues” — as part of the box set The Bootleg Series, Vols. 1-3. Finally, in conjunction with the 2005 release of Martin Scorsese’s documentary portrait No Direction Home, the label released this six-song promotional disc, beautifully packaged in the vein of the original In Concertcover but still frustratingly incomplete (not to mention unavailable via traditional retail channels). What’s left is an extraordinary record of the young Dylan at the apex of his craft, in transition from the protest anthems on which his early fame rests toward the deeply personal and hauntingly poetic songs that remain his greatest legacy. From a fiery rendition of “The Times They Are a-Changin'” to a jaw-droppingly beautiful “Boots of Spanish Leather,” this is music that transcends space and time. Until the Sony BMG brain trust wises up and releases the Carnegie Hall tapes in full, consumers are heartily recommended to seek out bootleg releases, in particular Wild Wolf’s 1997 release In Concert, which even boasts CBS’ original cover design for good measure.
~Jason Ankeny – allmusic.com 

bob dylan Carnegie_Hall_1963


6 thoughts on “October 26: Bob Dylan – Carnegie Hall NYC 1963”

  1. quite simply the finest concert from Dylans acoustic period in terms of consistancy of performance.Such a shame columbia released the 1964 Haloween show instead.That 1964 show which although has a certain charm and mixes older songs with forthcoming newer material, is marred by a sloppiness of being Dylan being a little worse for wear.The Carnegie Hall concert is totally different, with Dylan fully focused vocally and delivering many definitive versions of his early classics.

  2. The Columbia release was actually planned for early 1965. I used to hang out in record stores when I was a kid, and the guy in one of the stores let me go into the store room and rummage through the promotional material and take what I wanted. Sometime either in late ’64 or very early ’65, I came across the album slick (slick means the front cover) of Bob Dylan In Concert. It was the first Dylan album cover not to list the songs on the front. The cover (which the cover above is based on though the photo and title were different) was exactly what it was like seeing Dylan from the balcony of the theater. I’d been to Dylan’s Philharmonic Hall Halloween show a few months earlier and knew it was recorded because there were two extra microphones on either side of the stage. For years I thought it was going to be the Philharmonic Hall show until three decades later when I got on the internet. I waited and waited for the album to appear, but Bringing It All Back Home was released instead. When I finally saw the track list, it was easy to see why Columbia and Dylan didn’t release the album. By 1965, he was way past that that period. An easy way to check this is the serial numbers. Another Side was 2193. In Concert was 2302. Bringing It All Back Home was 2328. I wrote about this for the original Bobdylan.com. The story is now here:

    1. Great stuff Peter!

      Love to hear such stories. I will edit my post regarding Columbia’s then planned release.


Comments are closed.