April 14: Bob Dylan – The 4th Infidels recording session, New York City in 1983


I’m usually either here or on the West Coast or down in the Caribbean. Me and another
guy have a boat down there. Jokerman kinda came to me in the islands. It’s very
mystical. The shapes there, and shadows, seem to be so ancient. The song was sorta
inspired by these spirits they call jumbis.
~Bob Dylan (to Kurt Loder, March 1984)

Studio A
Power Station
New York City, New York
14 April 1983
4th Infidels recording session. Produced by Mark Knopfler and Bob Dylan.

  • Bob Dylan (vocal, harmonica, keyboards & guitar)
  • Mark Knopfler (guitar)
  • Mick Taylor (guitar)
  • Alan Clark (keyboards)
  • Robbie Shakespeare (bass)
  • Sly Dunbar (drums)

  1. Clean-Cut Kid
  2. Clean-Cut Kid
  3. This Was My Love (Jim Herbert)
  4. Man Of Peace
  5. Man Of Peace
  6. Man Of Peace
    Released: on “Infidels”, 27 October 1983
  7. Jokerman
    Released: on “Infidels”, 27 October 1983
  8. Clean-Cut Kid
  9. Sweetheart Like You
  10. Sweetheart Like You

bob dylan mark knopfler 1983

This is the easiest record I ever made because of Mark. He understood the songs so well. Of course he’s a songwriter himself, you know, and one of the most sensitive guitar players around. He encouraged me to go to the studio when I didn’t feel like it, when I’d rather have been someplace else. Actually we are soul mates. As far as guitar playing goes he never steps all over with fancy licks. Yeah, Mark was incredible. He helped make this record in a thousand ways, not only musically, which in itself would have been enough. Brilliant guy, I can’t say enough about him.
~Bob Dylan (to Martin Killer, July 1983)

Check out: