Feb 28: Bob Dylan @ Nippon Budokan Hall, Tokyo, Japan – 1978

bob dylan 1978

Includes a final version of “Repossession Blues” and the first performance of a brand-new Dylan composition, “Is Your Love in Vain,” introduced with a unique harmonica break. The show is recorded for a possible live album. Seven songs eventually appear on At Budokan: “Shelter from the Storm,” “Love Minus Zero,” “Simple Twist of Fate,” “Don’t Think Twice, It’s All Right,” “It’s Alright, Ma,” “Forever Young,” and “The Times They Are a Changin’.”
~Clinton Heylin (Bob Dylan: A Life in Stolen Moments Day by Day 1941-1995)

Nippon Budokan Hall
Tokyo, Japan
28 February 1978

  • Bob Dylan (vocal & guitar)
  • Billy Cross (lead guitar)
  • Alan Pasqua (keyboards)
  • Steven Soles (rhythm guitar, backup vocals)
  • David Mansfield (violin & mandolin)
  • Steve Douglas (horns)
  • Rob Stoner (bass)
  • Bobbye Hall (percussion)
  • Ian Wallace (drums)
  • Helena Springs, Jo Ann Harris, Debbie Dye (background vocals)

  1. A Hard Rain’s A-Gonna Fall
  2. Repossession Blues (Roland Janes)
  3. Mr. Tambourine Man
  4. I Threw It All Away

  5. Shelter From The Storm
  6. Love Minus Zero/No Limit
  7. Girl From The North Country
  8. Ballad Of A Thin Man
  9. Maggie’s Farm
  10. To Ramona
  11. Like A Rolling Stone
  12. I Shall Be Released
  13. Is Your Love In Vain?
  14. Going, Going, Gone
  15. One Of Us Must Know (Sooner Or Later)
  16. Blowin’ In The Wind
  17. Just Like A Woman
  18. Oh, Sister (Bob Dylan–Jacques Levy/Bob Dylan)
  19. Simple Twist Of Fate
  20. You’re A Big Girl Now
  21. All Along The Watchtower
  22. I Want You
  23. All I Really Want To Do
  24. Tomorrow Is A Long Time
  25. Don’t Think Twice, It’s All Right
  26. It’s Alright, Ma (I’m Only Bleeding)
  27. Forever Young
  28. The Times They Are A-Changin’

Check out: