The Band Syria Mosque Pittsburgh 1970 (audio and video)


The Band take the stage in top form, here is some rare footage from a 1970 concert at Pittsburgh’s Syria Mosque. It has some powerful renditions of songs from the group’s first three studio albums.

Four songs on film from The Band, performing live on November 1st, 1970.

The Songs:

Time to Kill
The Weight
This Wheel’s on Fire
Up on Cripple Creek

The Band:
Levon Helm, Drums;
Robbie Robertson, Lead Guitar;
Rick Danko, Bass Guitar;
Richard Manuel, Piano and Keyboards;
Garth Hudson, Keyboards (lots of them).


Audio, the whole set:

1. The W.S Walcott Medicine Show 0:00
2. This Wheel’s On Fire 3:38
3. Rockin’ Chair 7:31
4. Strawberry Wine 11:42
5. Unfaithful Servant 15:17
6. The Weight 19:47
7. We Can Talk 24:37
8. Up On Cripple Creek 27:37
9. The Shape I’m In 32:16
10. Time To Kill 36:10
11. King Harvest (Has Surely Come) 39:37
12. Look Out Cleveland 43:19
13. The Rumor 46:51
14. Stage Fright 51:30
15. The Night They Drove Old Dixie Down 55:22
16. Across The Great Divide 58:30
17. I Shall Be Released 1:01:36
18. Slippin’ And Slidin’ 1:05:02


The Syria Mosque was a 3,700 seat  performance venue located in the Oakland neighborhood of Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA. Constructed in 1911 and dedicated on October 26, 1916, the building was originally built as a “mystical” shrine for the Ancient Arabic Order of the Nobles of the Mystic Shrine (the Shriners) and designed by Huehl, Schmidt & Holmes architectural firm of Chicago. It was recognized as one of the best examples of “exotic revival architecture”.

Located at 4223 Bigelow Boulevard,over the years it held numerous events, mainly highlighted by concerts of the Pittsburgh Symphony Orchestra and numerous internationally recognized music performers, as well as political rallies and speeches.

Syria Mosque 1

Despite community efforts to have the building designated a historic landmark, the Syria Mosque was torn down on August 27, 1991 and the site is now a parking lot for the University of Pittsburgh Medical Center…

– Hallgeir