June 30: Bob Dylan & Eric Clapton @ Madison Square Garden New York City – 1999 (Full concert video)

Onstage, Mr. Dylan — in a particularly smiling, playful mood — was able to meet Mr. Clapton on his level, playing a heated version of ”Crossroads.” But Mr. Clapton had trouble meeting Mr. Dylan on his. Mr. Clapton’s liquid blues lines couldn’t find an entry point into Mr. Dylan’s ”Don’t Think Twice, It’s All Right,” and when their iconic heads met at the microphone for ”Born in Time,” they seemed to be singing different words. As for the rest of Mr. Clapton’s band, at first the musicians had trouble doing much more than standing around slack-jawed as these two giants searched for common ground to stand on.
-Neil Strauss (New York Times)

Madison Square Garden
New York City, New York
30 June 1999
Eric Clapton & Friends To Benefit Crossroads Centre Antigua


  • Bob Dylan (vocal & guitar)
  • Eric Clapton (guitar)
  • Andy Fairweather Low (guitar)
  • Nathan East (bass)
  • Tim Carmon (keyboards)
  • Steve Gadd (drums)

  1. Don’t Think Twice, It’s All Right
  2. It Takes A Lot To Laugh, It Takes A Train To Cry
  3. Born In Time
  4. Leopard-Skin Pill-Box Hat
  5. Not Dark Yet
  6. Crossroads (Robert Johnson)
  7. Sunshine Of Your Love (Cream)
  8. Bright Lights, Big City (Jimmy Reed)

Part 1: – song 1,2 & 3:

Part 2: song 4,5 & 6:

Part 3: – end of song 6, 7 & 8:

2 thoughts on “June 30: Bob Dylan & Eric Clapton @ Madison Square Garden New York City – 1999 (Full concert video)”

  1. On another note, any word on the quality of the soon-to-be-released Dylan live 1962-66 disc?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.