July 6: Bob Dylan live in Paris 1978, Border beneath the sun

An incredible audience recording of a powerhouse performance. The title is taken from the all new lyrics in The Man In Me. ..The sound quality is as good as many soundboards. This is definitely one to have in any collection.

The sound is a bit low on this one, so crank it up, put on your headphones and enjoy. I’ve listened to this recording hundreds of times on my walks, it’s a stellar performance. It is really good.

…but there is a new release “out there” that corrects the volume issue, and it is a good upgrade in other respects as well.

The highlight of the show is perhaps one of the all time greatest versions of “All Along The Watchtower”.  The song’s melody opens on the flute and gives way to a duet between David Mansfield on violin and Billy Cross on lead guitar, trading off solos between the verses until it ends with a scorching violin solo.  Rarely has anything else been heard in rock and even Dylan sounds impressed as he introduces Mansfield at the end of the piece. ”
– CollectorMusicReviews

My highlights are Man in me, Masters of war, All along the watchtower and One more cup of coffee, but there are so many good that it is hard to choose.

Pavillon de Paris
Paris, France
6 July 1978

  • Bob Dylan (vocal & guitar)
  • Billy Cross (lead guitar)
  • Alan Pasqua (keyboards)
  • Steven Soles (rhythm guitar, backup vocals)
  • David Mansfield (violin & mandolin)
  • Steve Douglas (horns)
  • Jerry Scheff (bass)
  • Bobbye Hall (percussion)
  • Ian Wallace (drums)
  • Helena Springs, Jo Ann Harris, Carolyn Dennis (background vocals)

  1. My Back Pages
  2. She’s Love Crazy
  3. Baby Stop Crying
  4. Mr. Tambourine Man
    Thank you. Thank you very much. Ce chanson, est l’histoire comme ma vie. I hope I said that right. 

  5. Shelter From The Storm
  6. It’s All Over Now, Baby Blue
  7. Tangled Up In Blue
  8. Ballad Of A Thin Man
  9. Maggie’s Farm
  10. I Don’t Believe You (She Acts Like We Never Have Met)
  11. Like A Rolling Stone
  12. I Shall Be Released
  13. Going, Going, Gone
  14. Rainy Day Women # 12 & 35
  15. True Love Tends To Forget
  16. Gates Of Eden
  17. The Man In Me
  18. One More Cup Of Coffee (Valley Below)
  19. Blowin’ In The Wind
  20. I Want You
  21. Señor (Tales Of Yankee Power)
  22. Masters Of War
  23. Just Like A Woman
  24. Don’t Think Twice, It’s All Right
  25. All Along The Watchtower
  26. All I Really Want To Do
  27. It’s Alright, Ma (I’m Only Bleeding)
  28. Forever Young
  29. Changing Of The Guards
  30. The Times They Are A-Changin’

bob dylan paris 1978

3 thoughts on “July 6: Bob Dylan live in Paris 1978, Border beneath the sun”

      1. All I can find in “blocked from sale” in discogs… Also nothing on Amazon… Not giving up yet, however!

Comments are closed.