Tag Archives: Fallen Angels

(update) What we think we know about Dylan’s new album, Fallen Angels

fallen angels

Cover art and Tracklist (According to Amazon):

1. Young At Heart
2. Maybe You’ll Be There
3. Polka Dots And Moonbeams
4. All The Way
5. Skylark
6. Nevertheless
7. All or Nothing at All
8. On a Little Street in Singapore
9. It Had to be You
10. Melancholy Mood
11. That Old Black Magic
12. Come Rain or Come Shine


We think it will be called Fallen Angels. It looks like he is still getting inspiration from Film Noir (se picture above). The director, Otto Preminger also made Frank Sinatra’s best film, The Man With The Golden Arm.

It seems to be a sequel of sorts of his last album and will most probably consist of Frank Sinatra standards (songs Sinatra did).

At least some of the work on the album is done in Studio B at Hollywood’s famed Capitol Studios (According to producer Al Schmitt, Feb 11).

It seems like he is brushing up on already recorded material.

“He came to my house eight or six months ago and spent a few hours, We listened to 21 songs – because he’s made two records of this [Sinatra project].”
– Daniel Lanois (to the Vancouver Sun)

It will be released on May 20th (we think, it’s a bit hard to read the small print here…) EDIT: Found a picture with better resolution, and yes, it is May the 20th:
bob Fallen Angels ad

Bobdylan.com/on-tour says:
For every pair of tickets purchased, you will receive a redemption code to receive a Compact Disk of Bob Dylan’s forthcoming album “Fallen Angels.” (Not available for Indianapolis and Boston.)

Bob Dylan reddit.com reports:
“The new album will be called Fallen Angels and will contain, among others, “Melancholy Mood”, “All or Nothing at All”, “Come Rain or Come Shine” and “That Old Black Magic”. Those four songs are also scheduled for an EP to be released in conjunction with Record Store Day.”

Bob Dylan – Melancholy Mood (2015.10.15 – Volkswagen Halle – Braunschweig, Germany, audio):

Continue reading (update) What we think we know about Dylan’s new album, Fallen Angels