Video of the day: John Cale, Nick Cave and Chrissie Hynde Songwriters Circle


John Cale, Nick Cave and Chrissie Hynde Songwriters Circle 1999

Recorded live for the “Songwriters Circle” program at the Subterania Club, London UK, May 12, 1999. Broadcasted by the BBC september 7, 1999.

The concept of this programme was having 3 singer songwriters meeting up only 1 hour before and to come up with a 1 hour acoustic set for filming.

Good songs, great writers and very fine performances!

It also exists as an audio bootleg. This also contains the rehearsal track Ship of Fools, but no I’m Waiting For The Man.

John Cale: vocals, acoustic guitar, piano
Chrissie Hynde: vocals, acoustic guitar
Nick Cave: vocals, piano
Adam Seymour: additional acoustic guitar

Program, Songwriters Circle:

Ship Of Fools (filmed backstage)
Thoughtless Kind (John Cale)
Talk of The Town (Chrissie Hynde)
West Country Girl (Nick Cave)
Fear Is A Man’s Best Friend (John Cale)
Kid (Chrissie Hynde)
Henry Lee (Nick Cave)
Dying On The Vine(John Cale)
I’ll Stand By You (Chrissie Hynde)
Into My Arms (Nick Cave)
Ship Of Fools (John Cale)
Back on the Chain Gang (Chrissie Hynde)
The Ship Song (Nick Cave)
I’m Waiting For The Man (All)

– Hallgeir