July 5: Bob Dylan @ St. James’ Park, Newcastle, England 1984 (videos)

bob dylan newcastle 1984

Playing his first show in Newcastle in 18 years, and to an English-speaking audience for rhe first time on this tour, Dylan clearly enjoys the experience. One highlight is a lengthy “Knockin’ on Heaven’s Door,” Dylan’s harmonica dueling with Santana’s guitar. The next day the Newcastle Evening Chronicle proclaims that, “Dylan the magician had breathed the kiss of life all over his work.” The concert is recorded officially, and “License to Kill” and “Tombstone Blues” both feature on Real Live.
~Clinton Heylin (Bob Dylan: A Life in Stolen Moments Day by Day 1941-1995)

St. James’ Park
Newcastle, England
5 July 1984

  • Bob Dylan (vocal & guitar)
  • Mick Taylor (guitar)
  • Ian McLagan (keyboards)
  • Greg Sutton (bass), Colin Allen (drums)

Click on the links to watch the videos on youtube.

  1.  Highway 61 Revisite
  2. Jokerman
  3. All Along The Watchtower
  4. Just Like A Woman
  5. Maggie’s Farm
  6. I And I
  7. License To Kill
  8. A Hard Rain’s A-Gonna Fall
  9. Tangled Up In Blue
  10. It’s Alright, Ma (I’m Only Bleeding)
  11. Simple Twist Of Fate
  12. Masters Of War
  13. Ballad Of A Thin Man
  14. Enough Is Enough
  15. Every Grain Of Sand
  16. Like A Rolling Stone
  17. Mr. Tambourine Man
  18. Girl From The North Country
  19. It Ain’t Me, Babe
  20. Leopard-Skin Pill-Box Hat
  21. Tombstone Blues
  22. Blowin’ In The Wind
  23. Knockin’ On Heaven’s Door
  24. The Times They Are A-Changin’

20-24 Carlos Santana (guitar)