Bob Dylan @ Athens, Greece – June 28, 1989 (full concert video)


The final show of Dylan’s month-long European sojourn is one of the best shows of the tour. Although the main set is a standard length, Dylan includes a unique acoustic “Every Grain of Sand,” and a second and o1Gold.” The encore is five Van Morrison joins Dylan onstage, performing two of Van the Man’s better known songs, “Crazy Love” and “And It Stoned Me.” Filmed for the BBC “Arena” special, they end up unused, presumably because Dylan again has the lights way down.
-Clinton Heylin (A Life in Stolen Moments)

Panathenaíkos Stádio
Athens, Greece
28 June 1989

  • Bob Dylan (vocal & guitar)
  • G. E. Smith (guitar)
  • Tony Garnier (bass)
  • Christopher Parker (drums)
  • 17-18  Van Morrison (guitar and shared vocals)

  1. Most Likely You Go Your Way (And I’ll Go Mine)
  2. You’re A Big Girl Now
  3. Ballad Of Hollis Brown
  4. Shelter From The Storm
  5. Ballad Of A Thin Man
  6. Highway 61 Revisited
  7. Don’t Think Twice, It’s All Right
  8. Every Grain Of Sand
  9. Mr. Tambourine Man
  10. Blowin’ In The Wind
  11. Silvio (Bob Dylan & Robert Hunter)
  12. I Shall Be Released
  13. House Of Gold (Hank Williams)
  14. Like A Rolling Stone
  15. Lakes Of Pontchartrain (trad.)
  16. The Times They Are A-Changin’
  17. Crazy Love (Van Morrison)
  18. And It Stoned Me (Van Morrison)
  19. Maggie’s Farm

Check out: