May 23: Bob Dylan: Fort Collins, Colorado 1976 (videos)

bob dylan 1976

The last three songs on the album (“You’re a Big Girl Now,” “I Threw It All Away,” and “Idiot Wind“) are as powerful and exciting as anything Dylan has done (comparable, for instance, to the May 1966 versions of “Ballad of a Thin Man” and “Like a Rolling Stone”). As phenomenal as every aspect of each of these performances is, the unique orchestration of guitars, keyboards, violin, drums and voice on “Big Girl” must be singled out for particular praise. Stoner’s bass-playing while Dylan sings “Down the highway, down the tracks, down the road to ecstacy” on “Idiot Wind” will have a special place in my heart as long as I live.
~Paul Williams (Bob Dylan: Performing Artist, Vol 2: The Middle Years 1974-1986)

Fantastic concert from the penultimate show of Rolling Thunder Revue 2. Five songs from this show were chosen to be included on Bob Dylan’s brilliant live album “Hard Rain”: Maggie’s Farm, One Too Many Mornings, Shelter from the Storm, You’re a Big Girl Now & Idiot Wind.

Hughes Stadium
Colorado State University
Fort Collins, Colorado
23 May 1976

  • Bob Dylan (guitar, vocal & harmonica)
  • Scarlet Rivera (violin)
  • T-bone J. Henry Burnette (guitar & piano)
  • Steven Soles (guitar)
  • Mick Ronson (guitar)
  • Bobby Neuwirth (guitar & vocal)
  • Roger McGuinn (guitar & vocal)
  • David Mansfield (steel guitar, mandolin, violin & dobro)
  • Rob Stoner (bass)
  • Howie Wyeth (drums)
  • Gary Burke (percussion)


  1. Mr. Tambourine Man
  2. It Ain’t Me, Babe
  3. Vincent van Gogh (Robert Friemark)
  4. Maggie’s Farm
  5. One Too Many Mornings
  6. Mozambique (Bob Dylan–Jacques Levy/Bob Dylan)
  7. Isis (Bob Dylan–Jacques Levy/Bob Dylan)
  8. Blowin’ In The Wind
  9. Railroad Boy (trad.)
  10. Deportee (Plane Wreck At Los Gatos) (Woody Guthrie, Martin Hoffman)
  11. I Pity The Poor Immigrant
  12. Shelter From The Storm
  13. Oh, Sister (Bob Dylan–Jacques Levy/Bob Dylan)
  14. I Want You
  15. Tangled Up In Blue
  16. You’re A Big Girl Now

    Yabgn 23051976 by Elstongunn on Mixcloud

  17. You’re Gonna Make Me Lonesome When You Go
  18. Lay Lady Lay
  19. Silver Mantis (Joseph Henry Burnett, John Fleming)
  20. Going, Going, Gone
  21. Idiot Wind
  22. Knockin’ On Heaven’s Door
  23. Gotta Travel On (Paul Clayton, Larry Ehrlich, Pete Seeger, Ronnie Gilbert, Lee Hays, Fred Hellerman, David Lazar, Tom Six)
  24. A Hard Rain’s A-Gonna Fall

  • 4, 5, 12, 16, 21 released on HARD RAIN – 10 September 1976
  • 4-6, 8-12, 21, 22, 24 included in the TV film HARD RAIN, first broadcast by NBC Network 14 September 1976


bob dylan hard rain back

Check out:


10 thoughts on “May 23: Bob Dylan: Fort Collins, Colorado 1976 (videos)”

  1. My wife Yvette I were there….up from Las Vegas, New Mexico…An amazing funky show!!!!

  2. The video of Tangled Up in Blue from this show that was shown by Jeff Rosen at the recent Dylan archives event at Asbury Park,NJ was amazing. Far better sound quality than the circulating audio, and watching him do it was something. If only all the video from this show would be released.

  3. The live Shelter from the Storm is just astounding, might even be better than the album version.

    1. Absolutely it is! This version of Shelter is one of my top five Dylan recordings of all time.

  4. When I first heard Idiot Wind on this album, all I wanted to do is play it over and over real loud. I still do, it’s the best.

Comments are closed.