Bob Dylan: Pavillon de Paris, Paris, France – 3 July 1978 (audio)

bob dylan paris 1978 3 july

Dylan returns to Paris 12 years after his legendary Olympia concert, and this time no guitars are out of tune! At the soundcheck, Dylan and the band run through “Something There Is about You,” “True Love Tends to Forget,” “Knockin’ on Heaven’s Door,” an old blues tune (probably called “Fix It Ma”), and “To Ramona.” For the show, Dylan replaces the two opening songs of the second half (“One of Us Must Know” and “You’re a Big Girl Now”) with “True Love Tends to Forget” and the rewrite of “The Man in Me” performed on the Far East leg. Between these comes an acoustic song, “It Ain’t Me, Babe.” As with the English press, the reception by the French media is
~Clinton Heylin (Bob Dylan: A Life in Stolen Moments Day by Day 1941-1995)

Pavillon de Paris
Paris, France
3 July 1978

  • Bob Dylan (vocal & guitar)
  • Billy Cross (lead guitar)
  • Alan Pasqua (keyboards)
  • Steven Soles (rhythm guitar, backup vocals)
  • David Mansfield (violin & mandolin)
  • Steve Douglas (horns)
  • Jerry Scheff (bass)
  • Bobbye Hall (percussion)
  • Ian Wallace (drums)
  • Helena Springs, Jo Ann Harris, Carolyn Dennis (background vocals).

  1. She’s Love Crazy
  2. Baby Stop Crying
    Merci! This is a new song off our new album. Baby … Baby, Please Stop Crying.
  3. Mr. Tambourine Man
  4. Shelter From The Storm
  5. It’s All Over Now, Baby Blue
  6. Tangled Up In Blue
  7. Ballad Of A Thin Man
  8. Maggie’s Farm
  9. I Don’t Believe You (She Acts Like We Never Have Met)
  10. Like A Rolling Stone
  11. I Shall Be Released
  12. Going, Going, Gone

  13. Rainy Day Women # 12 & 35
  14. True Love Tends To Forget
  15. It Ain’t Me, Babe
  16. The Man In Me
  17. One More Cup Of Coffee (Valley Below)
  18. Blowin’ In The Wind
  19. I Want You
  20. Señor (Tales Of Yankee Power)
  21. Masters Of War
  22. Oh, Sister (Bob Dylan–Jacques Levy/Bob Dylan)
  23. Just Like A Woman
  24. All Along The Watchtower

    David Mansfield! On the violin.
  25. All I Really Want To Do
  26. It’s Alright, Ma (I’m Only Bleeding)
    Thank you! It’s now time to introduce the band. I know you know a lot …. wanna know who they are, what you’ve been listening to. On the drums tonight, Ian Wallace. Give him a warm hand. On the bass guitar, a very fine bass guitar player, Jerry Scheff. Thank you. On the keyboards, from Philadelphia, Alan Pasqua. From Mobile, Alabama, on lead guitar, Billy Cross. On the conga drums, from Detroit, Bobbye Hall. All right, on the rhythm guitar, a young man with a great future, for sure, Steve Soles. And on the mandolin and the guitar a young man you met earlier, David Mansfield. On the tenor saxophone, a young man who gave up a career as a airline scientist to play in this band, Steve Douglas. On the background vocals tonight, on the left, my fiancée Carolyn Dennis. All right! Carolyn Dennis! On the right, I also forget my fiancée’s name! On the right, Jo Ann Harris. And in the middle, another woman, a young lady actually, has a great future and a wonderful behind, Helena Springs. All right this is called, it’s a song I wrote and recorded in New York City not too long ago. It’s Alright Ma, I’m Only Bleeding.
  27. Forever Young
    Thank you. Thank you very much. We’ll play this one right at the very end. [audience chants Une autre! Une autre! Une autre!] It must be somebody’s birthday. All right, we’ll play this last song, it’s a song I recorded with The Band on an album called Planet Waves.

  28. I’ll Be Your Baby Tonight
  29. The Times They Are A-Changin’

bob dylan paris 1978

Check out:


3 thoughts on “Bob Dylan: Pavillon de Paris, Paris, France – 3 July 1978 (audio)”

    1. It is a great concert, but best of the 78 concerts I’ve heard.. hardly.

      Maybe I should post 4/5 more shows from 78 and do a poll ? 🙂

      I like polls…

Comments are closed.