November 10: Bob Dylan live in New Orleans, Louisiana, 1981 (full concert audio)

Redirecting to a newer version of this post….

Dylan delivers a knock-out performance. The gospel material is powerful and biting without a condescending edge. The older standards are performed with a new fire and passion that includes them among the best live versions to date. Dylan stumbles on the lyrics once or twice, but adds new lines as well that more than compensate. The vocals are crisp are over the top out front and in your face. The music is tight, well mixed, and well performed.

Saenger Theater
Saenger Performing Arts Center
New Orleans, Louisiana
10 November 1981

  • Bob Dylan (vocal & guitar)
  • Fred Tackett (guitar)
  • Steve Ripley (guitar)
  • Al Kooper (keyboards)
  • Tim Drummond (bass)
  • Jim Keltner (drums)
  • Arthur Rosato (drums)
  • Clydie King, Regina Havis, Madelyn Quebec (background vocals)

bob dylan Stadiumsofthedamned


… the sound quality of the tape, which is in circulating and which one hopes will be released in it’s entirety to an appreciative public someday, is absolutely brilliant, and I know it’s given a number of fans a different perspective on Dylan’s 1981 performances. This is a concert to listen to for the pure joy of music.
~Paul Williams (Bob Dylan: Performing Artist, Vol 2: The Middle Years 1974-1986)

I totally agree with PW, this is indeed a brilliant concert.

I’ve embedded a couple of “single” songs and the full concert audio down below the setlist.


  1. Gotta Serve Somebody
  2. I Believe In You
  3. Like A Rolling Stone
  4. I Want You
  5. Man Gave Names To All The Animals
  6. Maggie’s Farm
  7. Girl From The North Country
  8. Ballad Of A Thin Man
  9. Heart Of Mine
  10. Simple Twist Of Fate
  11. All Along The Watchtower
  12. I’ll Be Your Baby Tonight
  13. Forever Young
  14. Gamblin’ Man (trad.)
  15. The Times They Are A-Changin’
  16. A Hard Rain’s A-Gonna Fall
  17. Watered-Down Love
  18. Shot Of Love
  19. Masters Of War
  20. Just Like A Woman
  21. Thief On The Cross
  22. Dead Man, Dead Man
  23. When You Gonna Wake Up
  24. In The Garden
  25. Blowin’ In The Wind
  26. It’s Alright, Ma (I’m Only Bleeding)
  27. It Ain’t Me, Babe
  28. Knockin’ On Heaven’s Door

 Full concert:

Check out:


2 thoughts on “November 10: Bob Dylan live in New Orleans, Louisiana, 1981 (full concert audio)”

  1. This is the same version of Thief On The Cross that appears on the Trouble No More box set, if I’m not mistaken. Excellent!

Comments are closed.