March 23: Bob Dylan & Neil Young playing Kezar Stadium, San Francisco, California in 1975 (audio)

Bob Dylan_Neil_Young

Dylan is the surprise guest, billed as “the man from the Fairmont,” at a benefit concert for SNACK (Students Need Athletic
and Cultural Kicks). Along with three members of the Band, Neil Young, Tim Drummond, and Ben Keith, Dylan stays
on stage for half an hour. He contributes vocals on “Are You Ready for the Country,” “I Want You,” (the slightly rewritten) “Knockin’ on Dragon’s Door,” and “Will the Circle Be Unbroken.” Unfortunately his microphone is turned way down in the mix, and he is barely audible on tapes of the show, even though the whole concert is broadcast on a local radio station. Dylan also provides backing on piano/guitar for the five other songs: “Ain’t That a Lot of Love,” “Lookin’ for a Love,” “Loving You Is Sweeter than Ever,” “The Weight,” and “Helpless.” Sara Dylan accompanies him to the show. After the concert, Dylan (and presumably Sara) dine at the home of Francis Ford Coppola, along with Bill Graham and Marlon Brando.
~Clinton Heylin (Bob Dylan: A Life in Stolen Moments Day by Day 1941-1995)

Kezar Stadium
Golden Gate Park
San Francisco, California
23 March 1975
S.N.A.C.K. Benefit

  • Bob Dylan (piano, guitar, harmonica)
  • Neil Young (piano, guitar
  • Ben Keith (pedal steel guitar)
  • Tim Drummond (guitar),
  • Garth Hudson (keyboards)
  • Rick Danko (bass)
  • Levon Helm (drums)

  1. Are You Ready For The Country? (Neil Young)
  2. Ain’t That A Lot Of Love (Homer Banks & William Parker)
  3. Looking For A Love (Neil Young)
  4. Loving You Is Sweeter Than Ever (Ivy Hunter/Stevie Wonder)
  5. I Want You
  6. The Weight (Robbie Robertson)
  7. Helpless (Neil Young)
  8. Knockin’ On Heaven’s Door
    From Wolfgang’s Vault: The highlight of the set comes next, when the band plays together on Young’s classic ballad “Helpless.” On this number the loose circumstances actually work in the song’s favor and it sounds quite good with these musicians. As “Helpless” is coming to a close, the group continues playing, and the song flows very naturally into Dylan’s “Knockin’ On Heaven’s Door” – an inspired pairing. It’s a unique version lyrically as well, as Dylan improvises lyrics and changes the chorus to “Knockin On The Dragon’s Door,” a change that’s significance is open to speculation.
  9. Will The Circle Be Unbroken (A. P. Carter)


Bob Dylan at Bill Graham's SNACK 1975

Bob Dylan Live

Check out: