March 10: Aretha Franklin – I Never Loved a Man the Way I Love You (1967)

Aretha franklin i never loved

(oo) What you want
(oo) Baby, I got
(oo) What you need
(oo) Do you know I got it?
(oo) All I’m askin’
(oo) Is for a little respect when you come home (just a little bit)
Hey baby (just a little bit) when you get home
(just a little bit) mister (just a little bit)

While the inclusion of “Respect” — one of the truly seminal singles in pop history — is in and of itself sufficient to earn I Never Loved a Man the Way I Love You classic status, Aretha Franklin’s Atlantic label debut is an indisputable masterpiece from start to finish.
~Jason Ankeny (



Released March 10, 1967
Recorded January–February 1967 at Fame Studio, Muscle Shoals and Atlantic Recording Studios, New York City
Genre Soul music: Memphis soul, Southern soul
Length 32:51
Label Atlantic, Rhino
Producer Jerry Wexler

I Never Loved a Man the Way I Love You is the breakthrough 1967 album by Aretha Franklin. It went to number 2 on the Billboard album chart and number 1 on the magazine’s Black Albums chart. It was certified Gold by the RIAA in 1967. It received a number 83 ranking on Rolling Stone magazine’s 2003 list of the 500 greatest albums of all time and inclusion in both the 1001 Albums You Must Hear Before You Die (2005) and 1,000 Recordings to Hear Before You Die (2008).

The album included two top-10 singles: “Respect” was a #1 single on Billboard‘s Hot 100 Pop singles chart, and “I Never Loved a Man (The Way I Love You)” peaked at number 9.

aretha franklin i never loved

I Never Loved A Man The Way I Love You – Live 1968:

Track Listing:

Side one

  1. “Respect” (Otis Redding) – 2:29
  2. “Drown in My Own Tears” (Henry Glover) – 4:07
  3. “I Never Loved a Man (The Way I Love You)” (Ronny Shannon) – 2:51
  4. “Soul Serenade” (Curtis Ousley, Luther Dixon) – 2:39
  5. “Don’t Let Me Lose This Dream” (Aretha Franklin, Ted White) – 2:23
  6. “Baby, Baby, Baby” (A. Franklin, Carolyn Franklin) – 2:54

Side two

  1. “Dr. Feelgood (Love Is a Serious Business)” (A. Franklin, White) – 3:23
  2. “Good Times” (Sam Cooke) – 2:10
  3. “Do Right Woman, Do Right Man” (Dan Penn, Chips Moman) – 3:16
  4. “Save Me” (Ousley, A. Franklin, C. Franklin) – 2:21
  5. “A Change Is Gonna Come” (Cooke) – 4:20

aretha franklin fame studio 1967@ Fame Studio during recording sessions in 1967


  • Aretha Franklin – piano, vocals
  • King Curtis – tenor saxophone
  • Carolyn Franklin – background vocals
  • The Sweet Inspirations – background vocals
  • Willie Bridges – baritone saxophone
  • Charles Chalmers – tenor saxophone
  • Gene Chrisman – drums
  • Tommy Cogbill – bass
  • Jimmy Johnson – guitar
  • Melvin Lastie – trumpet, cornet
  • Chips Moman – guitar
  • Dewey Oldham – keyboards


  • Produced by Jerry Wexler
  • Engineered by Tom Dowd

Full album – youtube:

From spotify:

Other March 10:

  • Gary Louris (born March 10, 1955 in Toledo, Ohio) is a guitarist, singer, and songwriter of alternative country and pop music. He was a founding member of the Minneapolis-based band The Jayhawks, and their principal songwriter and vocalist after the departure of Mark Olson; he is often credited with the band’s subsequent move from folk-country toward a more progressive, poppier sound.
  • Bob Dylan plays two concerts at Sun Theater, Anaheim, CA in 2000.
    There is a great audience recording circulating from the early show; check out this review on bobsboots -> Sun Beating at the Altar